10/10/2011 G+I – Log:

Today I went around the college taking pictures of objects that resemble art, design and media. The objects were to be used to create logos using only images.

I learnt today that a simple image can represent an entire company. An example of this is the 5 towns logo which is made up of 5 circles with different colours . The logo itself is not immediately obvious but as soon as you know what it means it becomes a symbol of the company. I also learnt that two in one logos are good also, such as an image inside text. Researching for inspiration is also good as you can gain ideas from research. Types of research include primary, which is real research such as the pictures I took. Secondary research are things found in books and the Internet, so in other words gathering existing products. I also learnt that there are a number of different puns in logo design, the word pun, visual pun and rebus. There are a number of questions asked throughout the session that I will answer now. These questions/answers reflect what I have learnt.

  1. When to use feathering? I use feathering when cutting out a real life image. Because a real life image is hard to cut out, I notice that you get sharp lines and it never becomes perfect. Therefore feathering would help to soften these edges and makes for a better picture.
  2. When it will not be good to use selection tool? From experience during my lesson I cannot see where it would not be good to use selection tools to create objects for logos. Selection tools are great for taking parts of images apart and using them to create objects.
  3. How does creating custom shapes help make logo making easier? Creating a number of custom shapes using the pen tool means that these shapes can be saved and therefore used whenever they are needed. This also means that I would not have to create them over and over again.
  4. What file type is the best to use? There are two file types that I consider to be good. The first of which is the PSD format. This is good because you can save it as an unflatterned image so you can go back and edit it. JPEG is great also as you do not lose much quality during saving. You also get the choice to choose how much compression you want and this method could also reduce quality and file size.

The importance to what I have learnt today is to again give me more techniques to use when creating logos. Eventually there will be a set of techniques that I find really useful and that work well together. All of what I have learnt today can be related to my own logo designs for the project brief.

Today I created a few objects that I could possibly use in logos. I originally used to the selection tool to try and get the best results however, decided to use the pen tool instead because it allows much more precision. The picture below is what I have done in todays lesson. The original images were live photos that had been cut out using the pen tool and then a colour overlay so that it looks like a custom shape. I particularly like the black image because it feel kind of 3D and the number of box shapes look good. I do not like the gray shape, it looks like there is too much going on. The reason I used to pen tool for both of these is because I can be a lot more precise when cutting out certain parts of images.

Even though my experiments went well I think I should stick to simple shapes. I say this because simple shapes can be effective without confusing the viewer. Simple images also do not draw too much attention to them. When I experiment more with custom shape making and simple shape making for logos then I will stick to just using simple shapes and images.

Leave a Reply

