03/10/2011 PT – Log:

Today I attended a lecture about mise-en-scene. I also got started on the production tech assignment tasks after finding out our group has lost a member. Just a little note, these tasks where completed two days later on 05/10/2011. This log covers both because I started the tasks on the date that appears as the title of this post.

Today I learnt a lot about what mise-en-scene means and includes. I am going to write out my list of notes which reflect what I learnt in todays lesson. I would like to say first that mise-en-scene means put into scene.

  • Decor: This means how the character will be dressed? How the sets will be decorated based on the genre of the production and the atmosphere of the production; for example, day, night, afternoon, raining, sunny and so on. Not only that but decor also includes how each room is going to be decorated and any props or vehicles used in the production.
  • Body Language and Movement: The main point to this section of mise-en-scene is how the character reacts to situations and other characters. Some actors actually have signature movements that they use often in their movies and so on. For example, Johny Depp acts very similar in terms of body movements. A good example of one of his films is Pirates of the Caribbean. He uses his signature moves in all of those films.
  • Blocking: Blocking means the character/s get the sense of being trapped of vulnerable. A good example of this is seen through the Lord of the Rings films.
  • Performance: This includes a number of things. The first of which is that the actor has to build up a suspension of belief by portraying their character correctly and making them convincing. This can be done by delivering lines correctly for example. This in turn makes the audience forget in which context the film is bing shot, making the production convincing sort of like reality.
  • Physical Transformation: This section includes how the actor changes into the character. For example, the clothes the actor will wear, hair style, makeup and movement. The actor will also need to adopt elements of the character such as, voice, facial movements, how much room the character needs on set and certain body movements like running or walking.
  • Elements Produce Meaning: This section includes the response characters/actors have to each over. Such as emotional responses including anger, frustration, happiness, empathy, delirious, revoltion and so on.
  • Viewer Expects: Viewers expect to be taken into a whole new world and the production team need to keep a promise of this.
  • Summary: Performance of the actors and so on has a massive effect on the whole production and the relationship between the production and the audience. Following these sections of mise-en-scene will ensure that the performance can be at its best where it relates to the target audience.
  • The point to learning all this today was to make sure I know exactly what goes into a scene, not just a scene but all the scenes of a production. This will help me greatly during my first production and especially in future productions.

    That tasks I have done so far for this project include the contingency plan, target/audience needs and target audience. These tasks do relate to what i have written in this log in some aspects. All of the tasks I have completed are fine. However, I have needed to research certain points such as target audience. I think I have not found enough evidence to back up such things as target audience and genre.

    As I said above, the research was a bit of an issue for me. To do this part better in the future I will need to search wider areas and not just the Internet. The Internet was the only resource I had to help me with these tasks and I do not think it was enough.

Leave a Reply

